Sharing: Babywearing As An Autistic Parent

I meant to share this wonderful post a little earlier than this – have only just got round to it! So much of this resonates with me. Carrying my little boy helps me feel calm and safe too.

jkpenney

Babywearing is a fantastic tool for parenting an autistic child. It allows us to meet the world where it is without fear for safety in crowds or over stimulation. Both are still a factor, but wearing E makes them easier to manage. This is all really great, and I’ve touched upon it before in the post titled Sensory Overload.

Jade wearing A in a rainbow buckle carrier. Both are looking at the camera smiling. E is sitting next to them with a huge grin at the camera. Jade, A, and E on the train at Busch Gardens

But how does babywearing affect me as an autistic adult? It’s actually helped me in a few ways as a parent and as an individual. As a parent, it makes going out seem possible. Outings are overwhelming and exhausting. I typically limit myself to one errand a day as more than that has me burnt out for days after.  When I need to take the kids with me to do these errands, even thinking about the day’s tasks feels like…

View original post 287 more words

Leave a Reply

