Sharing: Autistic Confessions I Had a Meltdown at Work

The experience described here is pretty much EXACTLY how I have experienced meltdowns at work. I take no credit for the words written here, but I felt them important to share, and I advise others to pass this information on.

Anonymously Autistic

The woman on the phone was not listening. I had called her for help and quickly realized that she would not be able to help me.

“I told her never-mind. I’ve made a mistake. I’m going to let you go.” She kept asking questions. Every question she asked I said – “I don’t know. I don’t have any more information. I am going to let you go.”

She kept asking. I told her again – “I need to let you go. You cannot help me.” Her overly helpful insistence that I not hang up the phone was about to make me blow up.

Finally, in a harsh tone I told her – “Look – I was trying to be nice but I am hanging up now because there is NOTHING you can do for me.”

I slammed down the phone and ran quickly out of our office in a panic…

View original post 511 more words

Leave a Reply

