We can never do enough.

I can never do enough.

I can never be a good enough employee.

I can never work hard enough
I can never be organised enough
I can never teach well enough
Never quite convey my points well enough
I’m never creative enough
Never convincing enough
Authentic enough
Inspiring enough

I can never do enough.

I can never be a good enough mother.

I am never there enough
I can never be a good enough role model
I can never empathise enough
Never keep my voice gentle enough
Never hold my tongue enough
I can never stay patient enough
Calm enough
Kind enough

I can never do enough.

I can never be a good enough wife.

I am never there enough
I can never be strong enough
Never trusting enough
I never listen enough
Never laugh enough.
I never just ‘let things go’ enough

I can never do enough.

I can never be a good enough friend.

I am never there enough
I never call enough
I never send or respond to messages enough
I never think about my friends’ needs enough
I never remember them enough

I can never do enough.

I can never be a good enough activist.

I am never there enough
Never active enough
I can never write well enough
Or often enough
Never speak well enough
I never listen enough
Never understand enough

I can never do enough.

I can never look good enough.

I can never walk gracefully, or confidently, enough
Never do my hair carefully enough
Never dress well enough
Never do my makeup neatly enough
Never keep myself groomed enough
Trimmed enough

I can never do enough.

I can never be a good enough thinker.

I can never read widely enough
Or deeply enough
I can never analyse critically enough
Never pay enough attention to the facts
Never consider other points of view enough
Never compare and contrast enough
Never present my arguments well enough

I can never do enough.

Is it any wonder that I am tired?
Is it any wonder that so many of us are tired?

There is not enough of me to be everything I want to be
There is never enough of any of us for us to be everything we want to be.

Or everything we have the potential to be.

We can never often enough
recognise enough
when we are enough.

3 thoughts on “We can never do enough.

Leave a Reply

