Sharing: Autism didn’t ‘steal’ me

This is so perfect. I have to confess, I’m feeling pretty raw about this particular month. Stressful time at work, minimal downtime, the comparative recentness of my own diagnosis…whatever it is, I’m finding it far less easy than I’d anticipated to be the activist I wanted to be at this time. But this post sums up my feelings so well.

the silent wave

Like I mentioned in a recent post, April is probably going to expose my Activist Face.  Not every post will smack of activism.  But I reckon that a greater portion of them will than is typical for me.  I think it’s possible that my subconscious is railing against the backdrop of blue heaped upon our fields of vision for a month out of every year, and my instincts tell me to issue a haughty retort.

It makes me shudder, more than a little, when someone makes the remark that autism “stole” their child.  They blame vaccines.  Or environmental chemicals.  Or maybe the age of their partner or themselves when their child was conceived.  Or perhaps mom took too many over-the-counter pain relievers during pregnancy.  Or maybe it’s a mystery.

But they believe that someone or something took their child away, and with him/her, the accompanying hopes and dreams, and maybe…

View original post 765 more words

One thought on “Sharing: Autism didn’t ‘steal’ me

Leave a Reply

